>Correction USGenWeb Mirror Site Preps New Search Engine

>Eureka! I found it! The USGenWeb Archives Special Projects link, http://www.usgenwebarchives.net/, posted a link to the USGenWeb Archives Newsletter. I’ve never seen the newsletter before or its homepage and I thought I’ve been everywhere on USGenWeb. That just goes to show you that you learn something new everyday. According to the newsletter post on June 15th, 2008, Maggie Stewart wrote that the new website at the dot net address will be a mirror site to the .org site . The LAORLEAN post was correct, but left out the mirror part. I hope that this remains true as many people have already had to update to this new URL from their personal genealogy homepages and genealogy sites. The LAORLEAN post left me with the idea that the new site would be totally gone.


"...The Archives is integrating to a new dedicated
server at http://www.usgwarchives.net and there
will be a mirror at http://www.usgwarchives.org.
This is being done for the construction of a
fantastic new search engine. .." URL of thread

After visiting the USGenWeb site today, it appears that they are having some technical issues with their html. The links to the right are not functioning and the webpage moves through the margins. After further investigation with the issue it’s my Firefox Mozilla brower that has updated itself recently that is causing the problem. The Firefox browser displays the page with the inoperable links to the right and is overlapped by the wording in the center of the page. The Internet Explorer browser does not display the links to the right at all and the page appears appropriately. Oh Nuts! I love my Firefox Mozilla browser and it looks like I’m going to have to view the USGenWeb page only in IE.

Then of course, Blogger has to mess me around with the quote tool that won’t let me switch off the quotes after I make them! Grrrrrr.

About Louisiana Genealogy Admin

I manage several RootsWeb mailing lists and message boards, support Louisiana Cemetery Preservation, am a former Louisiana and Mississippi librarian, have been researching genealogy of my family since 1988, and write and promote several blogs supporting either Louisiana genealogy or Louisiana cemeteries.
This entry was posted in Links, USGenWeb. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

