>Genealogy Networking in Louisiana

>From the LAORLEAN mailing list a group of listers are planning to attend the New Orleans Library on Loyola Avenue on September 27, 2008 at 10:00 AM. You can read the thread here:

“And if anyone else on the list whose name we don’t have would like to join us, please do. It’ll be great meeting those we know only by their messages. See you on the 27th. Jan & Peggy”

It was suggested to review materials available at the library prior to attending. “Guide to Genealogical Materials” at http://www.nutrias.org/~nopl/guides/genguide/gguide4.htm.

The NOPL also has a My Space profile.

In my alerts today an article on Roots Television about Linwood Plantation. “Bernadine Anderson, a descendant of Linwood slaves, works to preserve the Linwood Plantation in Louisiana.”

Also in my genealogy alerts was the blog post, “When You Think You’re German, But You Aren’t”, from the Family Tree Magazine Blog – Now What? Expert answers to your genealogy questions. Diane discusses John Hondlenk in the 1860 Louisiana mortality schedule. If anyone has a Hondlenk in their genealogy, Diane asks for you to speak up!

There are a number of social networking genealogy sites that I belong to. Keeping up with the various sites can be a daunting task using my prehistoric computer. Oftentimes, My Space will not allow me to log in. Their website indicates that I have had way to many attempts after the FIRST and ONLY attempt to log in and will lock me out for 15 minutes at a time. I have sites, groups, and profiles on Genebase, Friendster, Facebook, Ancestoral Spaces, Our Story, My Heritage, GeneaNet, Family Tree Circles, Twitter, Live Journal, and Mashable.com. So far Mashable has been the only one to preview my feeds and create a widget that displays a few of my other social networking memberships. Facebook has been the most efficient, but StumbleUpon has allowed me to make a few friends, too. None of these social networking tools has out performed the Yahoo Group, Louisiana Genealogy Blog with its 50 or so members. So thanks a bunch for participating in Louisiana Genealogy Blog’s Yahoo Group!

About Louisiana Genealogy Admin

I manage several RootsWeb mailing lists and message boards, support Louisiana Cemetery Preservation, am a former Louisiana and Mississippi librarian, have been researching genealogy of my family since 1988, and write and promote several blogs supporting either Louisiana genealogy or Louisiana cemeteries.
This entry was posted in louisiana, Yahoo Groups. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

