Lafayette yearbooks, surname updates, and the Louisiana Graveyard Rabbit

I’ve added group surnames to the Louisiana Families Group on Genebase and added a link to Louisiana Researchers Surname database. I surfed upon a nice article about Researching Your Home and added this to the list of files available to the group, too. There have been many articles found on line in the past week concerning cemeteries in Louisiana which have been forwarded to to the group for your enjoyment (and mine!)

In case you have not noticed, as my list of links here is rather lengthy, I’ve joined The Association of Graveyard Rabbits and am the Louisiana Graveyard Rabbit. You should surf on over to the Association to read more about what it is about and what other graveyard rabbits are doing. Bloglines has automatically updated my list and so you will find this evergrowing group of rabbits towards the bottom of my blog links. You may just be able to search “find” key word “rabbit” and get there, too. I’m not certain the blog list is complete as The Association is growing. If you would like to become a member, it is as easy as sending off an email to Terry Thornton, Hill Country of Monroe County, Mississippi GeneaBlogger.

Let me know if I am wrong but it appears that someone has updated My Louisiana Genealogy site. I couldn’t immediately find the mapping feature that allowed you to view different parishes in Louisiana through time. If that is true, I’m going to miss that feature as there is nothing worse than looking for parish genealogy information and looking in the wrong place because that particular parish either did not exist yet or its parish boundaries are different from what they are currently. If someone can find that link, let me know as I’ve misplaced it somewhere – Thanks!

On the Jackson Parish mailing list someone is still searching for the burial loction of Jessie Vinson who died in 1854 in Ouichita Parish, LA. You can find that thread here.

In the LAORLEAN thread someone would like to know what to do with a few old Lafayette yearbooks. Whoa! Don’t throw those away just yet… URL

In my mailbag:

Hugh Roe and Paula Barlow
By randomguy37
Martin Roe was born in 1846 in Saint James Parish, Louisiana. He died in 1886 in Louisiana. Jesse Frey Roe was born in 1848 in Saint James Parish, Louisiana. He died in 1908 in Louisiana. Charlotte J. Roe was born about 1852 in West …
http://nhgenealogy.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/hugh-roe-and-paula-barlow/

About Louisiana Genealogy Admin

I manage several RootsWeb mailing lists and message boards, support Louisiana Cemetery Preservation, am a former Louisiana and Mississippi librarian, have been researching genealogy of my family since 1988, and write and promote several blogs supporting either Louisiana genealogy or Louisiana cemeteries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

