Louisiana surname groups on Facebook and more

There are many surname groups on Facebook in Louisiana. If you have friended me on Facebook, you can see the list. The following surnames appear:

SAM
KNOWLES
EARHART
NORMAND
GUIDRY
VUELMANS MUES and COFFERS
FUSELIER de la CLARE
TRAHAN ROBICHEAUX
GOUDEAU
CAVANEAUGH

I have also found a Friends of the St. Charles Library, which was awesome ’cause I love libraries.

The one problem that I have with a group on Facebook is the inability to search discussion posts. A Yahoo Group or a Google Group allows for message searching (when that Yahoo Search message feature works.)

In light of current events i.e. The Oil Spill in the Gulf, I would encourage those of you who have never visited Louisiana or understand the plight of our state’s coastal regions to read this article, and when you are finished, join a Louisiana birding group on Facebook. Why? First of all, Louisiana birds are beautiful. Secondly, you may have a few less birds migrating next year and this will affect more than just Louisiana. Moving on….to more genealogy b/c I am ranting.

On my reading list this weekend was the The Robertson Family – Red River Sankofa blog. I enjoyed reading about the cemetery preservation efforts for Hettie Adgers cemetery, complete with photographs and transcriptions. I surfed around further found the site guestbook when noticed a link to a TNG site had been added recently. So I surfed on over…..but was disappointed to find that the site requires the admin to approve you before you view anything. Little did I know that Michael Hait had reviewed this site earlier this week, too. Read his review here about the website, Liberian Repatriates. I am looking forward to learning more about the site.

About Louisiana Genealogy Admin

I manage several RootsWeb mailing lists and message boards, support Louisiana Cemetery Preservation, am a former Louisiana and Mississippi librarian, have been researching genealogy of my family since 1988, and write and promote several blogs supporting either Louisiana genealogy or Louisiana cemeteries.
This entry was posted in louisiana and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Louisiana surname groups on Facebook and more

  1. Liz says:

    Hi,
    I’ve awarded you the “Happy 101” blog badge. If you’d like to read more and/or claim it, here’s the post:
    http://mybigfatfamilyblog.blogspot.com/2010/05/happy-101-and-my-aunt-marthas-birthday.html
    Best,
    Liz

Leave a Reply

