My Google Feeds are ugly & two obits: Bloglines and Vox blogs

My Facebook feed provided vital information concerning Bloglines recently. Bloglines is going the way of MSN Groups, Yahoo Geocities, and AOL’s Hometown. I am uncertain what will happen to the javascript links provided on this blog by Bloglines and loathe the undertaking of sorting those links inside my Google feed reader. I quite simply do not have the time to sort out over 200 feeds into catagories. And so, much of the functional service that this blog provides may soon disappear with regards to the Louisiana Genealogy links to the left assigned by my Bloglines feed. You will find the list to the left and towards the bottom Bloglines provides a link to its doomed service. The Google Feed is NOT as pretty and would disturb my eyes. Google feeds are JUST too ugly. By October 2010 the internet will lose a valuable service to our Louisiana Genealogy Blog and see the death of yet, another internet service, Bloglines.

Vox blogging service will be deleted as well in the very near future. Vox is no longer accepting new blogs and has begun its outsourcing, if you will, of its blog services to TypePad. Vox will cease to exist by the end of September 2010.

The internet is full of broken links when it comes to GeoCities and AOL Hometown. I really hate that these service providers could not provide redirection or archiving.

So I suppose this is an un-official obituary of sorts for Bloglines and Vox. I hope that I will find a solution to my feed display in the next few months. I enjoy being able to access my Louisiana RootsWeb lists, sites and blogs. Not every link here is from Bloglines. Many of my links will remain intact, but I fear and loathe change and much prefer the comfortable stability of familiar surroundings. I know you understand.

About Louisiana Genealogy Admin

I manage several RootsWeb mailing lists and message boards, support Louisiana Cemetery Preservation, am a former Louisiana and Mississippi librarian, have been researching genealogy of my family since 1988, and write and promote several blogs supporting either Louisiana genealogy or Louisiana cemeteries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

